Bucharest Village Museum

The Bucharest Village Museum was first open on the 10th of May 1936 and it was named after Dimitrie Gusti, the one who laid the ground-breaking stone of the Sociological School in Romania. The Museum’s layout was set-up based on some drawings executed by the writer Victor Ion Popa who was funded by the Royal Cultural Foundation.

Upon its opening, the Museum was covering 5 hectares, where 30 rural-style houses were exhibited, representing various areas of the country. In 1940 and 1948, the Bucharest Village Museum was used as shelter for several refugee families from Bucovina and Basarabia. After this period, it went through a set of repairs before being reopened to the public.

Located near the Herăstrău Park, the museum is structured just like a map of Romania.

A walk outdoors, on the Museum’s premises is like a trip back in time. This way, visitors can see what the old lifestyle and the old life environment used to be like in the past, they can admire old traditions and the traditional peasant outfits that made us famous all over the world.

A walk on the Bucharest Village Museum’s premises is like a trip back in time helping you discover the old lifestyle and the old life environment.